Instant Satisfaction

I came across a post today “Instant vs Delayed Gratification” and realized that I hardly say no to myself when it comes to food AND if I do say no it doesn’t last long as I usually give in.  I hate dealing with the discomfort that comes with denying myself something that I want (and want it now or else my brain continually obsesses over it).

The quote from Ralph Waldo Emerson, “For everything that you missed, you have gained something else, and for everything that you gain, you lose something else,” struck a cord with me.  I never actually thought about it in that way and now that I’m putting some thought into it, it’s very true.

I want want want certain junk foods, but I don’t think about the needs of my body.  So, by giving into my want I gain temporary satisfaction that comes from devoring that food, but I give up part of my health and happiness.  I just feel shame after and for what?  A short gain of pleasure?  I’m not thinking about my actual needs and if I do, I dismiss them so quickly thinking that I can do what’s right for myself anyways.  I don’t like dealing with the discomfort of wanting something and not getting it.

I try to remember to treat myself like I would my five-year-old daughter…… If she wanted something and it wasn’t needed or beneficial to her (i.e. a second helping of dessert) I wouldn’t give it to her, even if she threw a fit.  She would just have to deal with that discomfort because I know I’m trying to do what’s right for her.  HOWEVER, I don’t treat myself that way.  I want something, if I say no, I have a frantic three-year-old throwing a tantrum in my head, crossing my arms, stomping my feet and making a giant production out of not getting my way.  So, what do I do?  I give in to myself and eat what I want.  There is hardly any delay of dealing with the discomfort and trying to wait out the craving. I can’t believe I give into myself SOOOO easily.  It’s insane.  I keep doing that and hoping for other results, but that will never happen if I can’t control myself.  I can’t believe what I’m giving up for such crap.  It’s not a fair trade off.  It’s not fair to myself.

I just thought that was an interesting post so I thought I’d share.

What about you?  Do you give in to yourself?  Would you let your kid get away how we treat ourselves?

This entry was posted in Food, Realization. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment