Benefits of Exercise & My Reasons to do it

Everyone knows that exercise is beneficial.  I know many reasons why I SHOULD move more, but somehow it doesn’t motivate me to do anything about it.  So, I decided that I should write down all the reasons why I want to exercise to remind myself of what benefits  I could reap!

images

The Mayo Clinic has an article about the ‘7 Benefits of Regular Physical Activity‘.

  1. Exercise Controls Weight
  2. Exercise combats health conditions and diseases

  3. Exercise improves mood
  4. Exercise boosts energy
  5. Exercise promotes better sleep
  6. Exercise puts a spark back into your sex life
  7. Exercise can be fun

Ok, so now we were reminded of the basic reasons, now why do I want to exercise?

  • Yes, I’d like to control my weight – actually I’d like to lose weight (AGAIN *sad face*).  I hate the fact that the number on the scale is slowly increasing, it really bothers me, but I don’t want a number to be the sole reason for wanting to exercise.
  • Improve my mood – why not!  People in my life (and myself) could surely benefit from being being in a better mood.  Overall it would make me happy to not be sad, depressed, frustrated, irritated and cranky more often than I’d like.
  • Boost ENERGY!  I need some of that.  I suppose I could take a ‘5 hour Energy  drink, but no thank you.  I am often sluggish and it’s really hard to motivate myself to get off my butt because I just know I’ll get tired doing simple tasks.  I’d like to be able to clean, park farther away in the parking lot, or walk up the stairs without feeling so winded.  Plus, I lack energy and therefore do not play with my daughter as much as I’d really like to.  She’s like playing outside…..I don’t because I get tired too fast, so I avoid it.  That’s not only hurting me by not moving more, but it’s hurting our quality time together and I don’t want her to assume that it’s a good thing to sit on your butt all the time.
  • Before I read the article I listed above I had already thought about how me getting in better shape could help my sex life.  I mean seriously, I hate having to stop because I tired and out of breath.  NO, that’s not just a lame excuse like “I have a headache” to get out of it.
  • I want to fit into my clothing that is currently in my closet.  I lost a lot of weight before and got rid of my bigger clothing because I thought I would stay smaller.  I went from a pant size of 20 down to a size 10.  Right now a lot of the clothing in my closet is about a 12 or 14 and that’s where I want to be.  It felt great to be able to easily find clothing when shopping since now I could shop in all stores, not just plus size stores.  Plus, even today I was shopping at our local thrift shops and had a hard time finding size 16’s that I needed.  I found a lot of 10’s or 12’s though.
  • Exercise would give me something to do.  Something positive to do besides sitting on the couch and surfing the web.
  • There would be more options of things to do for my family.  We could do a lot more of outdoor activities that I always avoid because I’ll be too tired to do them and feel like I’m holding them back.
  • It would improve my self-esteem knowing that I am doing something great for myself.
  • Improve my stress level because I’d be taking the time to take some time for myself and let the stress out in a positive manner versus eating the stress away.

Well that’s the basic list for now.  Another aspect I need to focus on would be eating properly, but that’s a whole other topic!

This entry was posted in Body Image, Exercise, Realization, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

