A Sign of Trying….Continued

In a previous post I said that I made a phone call to an eating disorder clinic about making an appointment.  Well, I had that initial assessment today and it was pretty uneventful.  I went and had lab tests done where they checked my liver, kidneys, cholesterol, and they all had good results.  They they checked my blood pressure, heart rate and did an EKG.  Everything checked out fine.  Their scaled actually was fairly close to mine so I wasn’t surprised by the weight they told me, which was good.

A Doctor came in and we went over the questionnaire that I had filled out and she asked more questions about my background.  It was actually difficult to talk about some things and admit to some of my bad “habits”.  Never the less I gave her accurate information so that she has a good idea of where I’m starting at.  Then I talked with a Care Manager about the next steps.

I went to make the next appointments, however I had left my calendar at home or so I thought (as of now, I still can’t find it, which totally sucks).  Anyways, on Monday I will call in and make appointments for initial visits.  I will meet with a Therapist that specializes in binge eating disorders as well as DBT (Dialectical Behavioral Therapy), a Dietician and also a Physical Therapist to discuss creating a realistic exercise regimen.  It sounds like a lot of appointments and I’m not sure how I’ll manage all of them with work, but they said everything is customized to how much I can actually make the appointments.

So, I feel like this is a good step in the right direction.  I’ll keep you posted!

This entry was posted in Body Image, My Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

