Capturing My Attention

I recently started doing a workbook.  You see I really wanted this workbook that was recommended to my by my therapist.  My best friend knew I was struggling with a poor body image and I have been for as I have for as long as I can remember. Well for my birthday in April 2011, she bought it for me.

Yes, I know I’ve had this book for over a year, and I haven’t gone as far as even opening the dang cover.  I suppose you could say I was scared.

A body image workbook….sounds like I’ll have to think about the thing I dislike the most….myself.  That doesn’t sound fun, not even one bit.  I am mean enough to myself about my looks as it is and now I’m supposed to do a workbook and describe the things that bother me.  That kinda sounds like a recipe for disaster.  Or maybe you could say I just wasn’t ready to face these fears.

Now, I’m not saying I’m ready yet, however I did ransack my apartment looking for this very book the other day.  For some reason I wanted it.  I wanted to see what it was about.

The introduction was interesting.  It wasn’t trying to sell you on reading this book and that it would be a magically cure, but more so that everyone is different and that some may get more or less out of this book then others.  I liked that it was real and honest not some hoax trying to get you to buy into it.

So that’s where I started.  It’s called The Body Image Workbook by Thomas Cash.  It was capturing my attention and I shall continue to read it.  Stop back for more updates!

This entry was posted in Body Image and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Capturing My Attention

  1. Angie says:

    Hmmm… I’m intrigued. I’ve never heard of this, but it’s obviously something I struggle with too. I’ve often wished that instead of obsessing about dieting (not that I don’t truly want to be healthier) I could find a way to be ok with being a bit overweight.

    I sometimes wonder if I wasn’t so obsessed with being thin, if I might not be less fat – if that makes any sense at all.

    I’m looking forward to following along and hearing more about this! 🙂

    • Danielle says:

      I know what you mean about being obsessed. I try really hard not to be, but then I don’t want to not pay attention and gain a ton of weight back, which is happening anyways. I can’t seem to find a happy medium.

Leave a Reply

