Changing up my diet!

I’ve decided I needed something different, a new way of looking at things, a new perspective and something to get me excited and motivated.  With that I have decided to join Weight Watchers.

I know that I’ve done the SlimGenics Program and was successful and I’ve tried weight watchers in the past and wasn’t super successful, but I thought I’d give it another chance since I know know that I can lose weight, I can be successful when I put my mind to something.  I just need to find a food plan that works with my everyday life and I need to get my brain to cooperate.  Most days I just don’t understand how I’m always thinking of food and that my portion sizes are so out of control.

I’m excited to start Weight Watchers and I tracked my points yesterday and for not planning my day out I only went over a few points, so I thought that was decent.

I’m struggling a bit today because I just have the urge to eat something even though I know that my body isn’t truly hungry….I tried chewing gum earlier and my brain continued thinking about food.  This evening I’ve grabbed food twice and took one bite realizing, “no, I don’t need this” and put it away.  So, I was proud of that and need to update my points for the day.

Well onto learning how the Weight Watchers Online website works so I get comfortable and familiar with everything!  Wish me luck 🙂

This entry was posted in Food, Realization, Success, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Changing up my diet!

  1. Angie says:

    Yay!! Congrats, Dani!!

    You are not alone; I am doing the exact same thing and it’s working really well for me – I just couldn’t get myself back into the SG super-restrictive mindset again, no matter how hard I tried, so this is working so much better.

    Plus, it should be really good for us for maintenance when we are back to our goal weights again!! 🙂

  2. Jom Purdy says:

    YOU SAID
    “I need to get my brain to cooperate. Most days I just don’t understand how I’m always thinking of food”

    I wonder whether diet programs, like Weight Watchers, are doomed to fail for many people precisely because they make us keep thinking about food — found points, food logging, food diaries, and so on.

    It seems to me that a constant focus on food may be counter-productive.

    When a food craving hits, or even before, why not change the brain’s attention to something else that’s not related to food? Read an interesting book, do some errands, take a short walk, or maybe even better, just turn off all lights and noises and electronic gadgets, and just relax or meditate for a few minutes?

    • Danielle says:

      That is a VERY interesting point you have. I totally agree with you and feel kind of dumbfounded that I never even really thought it had that much of an impact on it. Sometimes before I even realize that I’ve had time to make a choice of distracting that I’m already eating. It’s like second nature to just eat and my brain doesn’t even process that there is another option.

      I really appreciate your comment, and I’m going to try to put some distraction action between my craving and my eating. Wow, again, thank you so much for pointing that out!

Leave a Reply

