I tried…..

This look yummy, right?

So this past weekend, I tried to make some better choices come to find out they weren’t much better, LOL.

I really wanted taco dip, but figured that the store bought one would be too many calories, plus it didn’t say on it so I couldn’t be sure.  Then I tried making my own taco dip and thought it would a “healthier” version, which I’m sure it was, however I was in shock after we ate it and then I tracked it in myfitnesspal.com account.  The sodium was out of this world.  I made one batch, but it ended up being way more than I thought so I split it into two pans that we would all be sharing.  Well it was 900 calories, however here’s the kicker, the sodium was over 5,000 mg.  Yikes, talk about water weight city.

I made it with Fat-free cream cheese, Fat-free sour cream, low-fat cheese, fresh tomatoes, shredded lettuce and one packet of taco seasoning.  It was delicious, but I just couldn’t imagine that it had that much sodium in it.  Plus I didn’t even factor in the chips I used to eat it with.

Lesson learned.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I tried…..

  1. Angie Bullock says:

    Hey, you tried and that’s something!! It’s absolutely better to have tried than to have just caved and bought the pre-packaged (and very high fat) dip.

    It’s progress in the right direction!!

  2. To cut out the sodium maybe you should think about making your own taco seasoning? I bet that would have a lot less salt. And it’s better that you made it yourself.

    • danibabe2 says:

      Andrea- you are exactly right about making my own seasoning next time! I’ve made my own seasoning for tacos before so I’m not sure why I didn’t this time. Silly me!

    • Becca says:

      Great! I just made my own taco seasoning for the first time this summer. It’s actually better than pre-packaged. I think you still made a wise choice to make your own taco dip than buy it from the store Danielle!

      • Yeah, I was going to recommend making your own taco seasoning as well! I wanted to find a healthier way to make taco meat that was like taco bell (you know, JUICY and TASTY), so I looked for a recipe online and found one really easily.

        This is what I found:

        1 pound lean ground beef
        1/4 cup all-purpose flour
        1 tablespoon chili powder
        1 teaspoon salt
        1/2 teaspoon dried minced onion
        1/2 teaspoon paprika
        1/4 teaspoon onion powder
        dash garlic powder
        1/2 cup water

        If you want to make taco meat, just mix the dry ingredients with the beef and brown in a skillet, then add the water until thickened. To make it a little more plan-friendly, I would suggest omitting the flour completely, or using a healthier thickening substitute.

        The spices are what i would recommend for a taco seasoning for a dip. Maybe throw some cumin in there and fresh cilantro if you like (I hate cilantro, ewww).

Leave a Reply

