My love/hate of food

Yes I LOVE and HATE food.  I’m constantly thinking of food I LOVE and I HATE that.  I don’t know why I’m always thinking of food.  It’s never-ending, it’s always on my mind and it’s really irritating.  So irritating, that I am annoyed at myself for thinking this way all the time.  I don’t know how to change my thinking.  Someone says “What should we do?” I immediately think, hmm, what restaurant should we go to.  I am driving and think of all the places as I drive by them.  I sit on the couch and think of all the foods I don’t have in the house, but want.

I need to listen to my body because I’ve realized that I eat for every reason – except usually hunger, because I hardly ever let myself become hungry.  Yes, I think it’s a good idea to eat every few hours so that your blood sugar doesn’t drop to low, but really do I need to be eating as often (or as much) as I usually do?  NO, I don’t, but I still do it.  Why?

Why do I feel the constant need to always be eating…..it’s such a bad habit.  I’m just frustrated.  I HATE the prep and cost that goes along with food.  It drives me batty.

I’ve always had such a sweet tooth and LOVE chocolate and other yummy sweet dessert type foods.  Then again I LOVE most fried, greasy foods and starches too.  It’s hard to limit myself, I feel deprived and then I rebel against myself.

Why do I feel the need to have multiple desserts/treats everyday?  I would like to find a balance where I could 1-2 treats a week, but that sounds 100% unfathomable for me.  I don’t think I could achieve that, it sounds like too little of an amount.

What is wrong with my brain that I LOVE food and yet HATE everything about it at the same time?  Does anyone have any answers?

*SIGH*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My love/hate of food

  1. Angie says:

    Dani, you’re hardly alone. There are so many of us who struggle with exactly what you’re talking about.

    Have you ever heard of the book “Made to Crave” by Lysa Terkeurst?

    I highly recommend at least checking it out (here is a sample chapter: http://madetocrave.org/), because it’s changed a lot of women’s lives.

    • danibabe2 says:

      Ooh, I have not yet heard of that book, but I’m going to look at that sample chapter soon and see if it strikes my fancy. Have you read it yet, I’m assuming so since you’re recommending it!

      Hope all is well 🙂

      • Angie Bullock says:

        Yes, it’s really good! Plus, there’s a free 30-day Kindle edition daily devotional to go along with it. I actually started with it since it was free. 😉

  2. Angie’s right. I have an enormous sweet tooth, and last night I had a conversation with my husband which basically consisted of the following:
    Me: “WHY DO I LOVE FOOD SO MUCH?”
    and after my husband said “everyone loves food! You don’t love it more than anyone else!” I responded with “I’m far shorter than you, yet I weigh more. Therefore, I love food more than you!”

    I just get these cravings, and I feel like the best thing for me is going to be to eat HALF of these cookies RIGHT NOW. Ugh, lots of us are right there with you! I should check out that “Made to Crave”… Sounds like it might be relevant to my life.

    • danibabe2 says:

      I hate those cravings. I feel like they are worse then other people or that I have ZERO will power to resist them. Sometimes I eat something before I even realize that I did it and then it’s too late to take back. It’s a habit for me that I’ve given into for so long (just having whatever I felt like), but now I’m trying to change that behavior and it doesn’t like that! Some days are really bad in resisting and pushing back makes it even worse sometimes, but I’ve come up with the thought that if my daughter acted all whiny and begged for a certain thing and said “I want it NOW”, I especially wouldn’t let her have it if that was her bad behavior and yet I have that behavior in my head and give into myself. What is up with that?

  3. I really don’t think that everyone feels the same way about food as we do. I was at a jewelry party the other night and the hostess had put out a spread…cucumbers/carrots/cherry tomatoes with hummus, tortilla chips/salsa, potato chips, white chocolate macadamia nut cookies. Thank goodness she had the veggies since I’m still in the weight loss phase of slimgenics, and yes, I did cheat and dip a bit into the hummos and the salsa. But what I really wanted was to inhale the chips and eat a big cookie. I managed to resist.

    However, the other guests at the party were not dieting, as far as I know, and I didn’t see any of them eating the cookies or chips! Is it possible that they simply weren’t as tempted by these foods as I am? It’s totally perplexing to me.

    • danibabe2 says:

      It perplexes me too about how some minds think so differently and that one thing that is tempting to one person another person has no interest in. I’m glad that there are others that understand where I’m coming from, but it’s really hard for us to overcome something like this since food is a necessity. Well, I suppose we just keep trying, right Dana!

Leave a Reply

