I’ve Discovered – Day 22

I’m going to start a new 30-day series on things I’ve discovered while on my weight loss journey.

Today is day 22.

I’ve figured out that just because you lose the weight does NOT mean everything is the way you thought it would be.

I thought that if I just get to be under 200 pounds that I’d be content with myself.  When I got there, I wanted more.  When I hit my goal, I wanted more.  I lowered my goal and achieved that and I’m still not 100% happy with my body image.

When will I learn to be happy with myself?  Yes, it’s OK to want to better yourself, but there comes a point when you need to accept and be satisfied with how far you’ve come.  Nothing will ever be perfect, but it’s not about that.  It’s about loving yourself for what you are – not what you think you should be.

I’ve done so well and need to continually remind myself of how far I’ve come and that I am beautiful just how I am!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ve Discovered – Day 22

  1. Alyssa Rhoades says:

    “I’ve figured out that just because you lose the weight does NOT mean everything is the way you thought it would be.”

    This is the most important lesson anyone can learn during weight loss. The weight is not the problem but instead how you look/treat yourself as an individual that needs the biggest change. It takes time and its hard to come to terms with. I think its also difficult because everyone around you always has opinions, about how you’re too small/big, or too this or too that. When you stop listening to others and start realizing how wonderful you are TODAY….that’s when the change really begins. Peoples’ agendas and opinions will always be there so its best to look inside yourself and realize that you are responsible for your own happiness.

  2. Pingback: I’ve Discovered – Day 30 (And Recap!) | Changes Next Exit

Leave a Reply

