The Letter “C”

What is the significance of the letter “C“?

Well, nothing particularly unless you apply meaning to certain words.  It can mean different things to different people, but I’ve come up with some ideas for me.

Definition of Change: 1. to make different, 2. to exchange for something else, 3. to remove or replace.

I decided to make a “Change“.  Why did I decide this?  Well it wasn’t just one day I said “I’m fat, I need to do something”.  No, it was over numerous years of disliking my appearance and trying (not very hard) to make changes.  I wanted the change to happen without much effort.  I didn’t have the strength to put that much effort into things.  Life is packed full of things that require our attention, however some things have a higher priority than other things.  Now, I’m not saying that our body isn’t important, but it’s something that many people put on the back burner and say they’ll do something later or tomorrow or next week.  And inevitably it continues to get put off sometimes for many many years.

Courage has a few definitions, but the one that fits the best here would be this one: is the ability to confront fear, pain, risk/danger, uncertainty, or intimidation.

Losing weight, making a big life or confronting certain facts can be a very scary and complex process.  Sometimes ignoring or pushing away the fear of being overweight is so much easier than actually doing and sticking to something that works for you.  Weight loss can be a painful experience.  For me it’s mentally painful and I’ve had to dig deep for the courage to continue.  To commit to take this step and to continue having the courage to stick it out even during the tough times takes a lot of energy on my part.  I’ve been through some things during my life that I know that I have courage, but it’s always been a struggle when it comes to losing weight.  I just could not do it and stick to it but today I am.

Confidence is generally described as a state of being certain either that a hypothesis or prediction is correct or that a chosen course of action is the best or most effective. Self-confidence is having confidence in oneself.

I’m confident that my decision in joining SlimGenics.  I’m learning to be more self-confident in how I look, how I feel and how I present myself while losing the weight that has been a contributing factor to holding me back from life.  I never thought that I could do this, I didn’t believe in myself nor did I know what the best course of action was to take.  I pretended that I was OK, even though I knew I wasn’t, but most of the time I even hid that from myself.  I’m still struggling with accepting compliments from others, but each day I become a bit more confident in my self and my abilities.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

This change that I’ve made has taken courage.  It’s raising my confidence and I’m sure that this was the best course of action for me at this point in my life.  Yes, I still will have struggles, but if I can remember the courage and knowledge that I have inside myself then I will win at this game called life.  I am taking charge of ME and doing this for ME.

Why are you making this change?  Where does your courage and confidence come from?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Letter “C”

  1. Nicolle says:

    This is a great post Danielle! It’s amazing to see how far you are coming, physically and mentally! You can make these changes!!

  2. Angie says:

    What a great post! I couldn’t agree more and I feel the same way. Just last night my hubby was telling me that even more incredible than the physical changes were the emotional changes he was seeing in me. Your post hits it spot on!

  3. Pingback: I’ve Discovered – Day 4 | Changes Next Exit

  4. Pingback: I’ve Discovered – Day 4 | Changes Next Exit

Leave a Reply

