A hard day

Today was a hard day for me.  Day 11 and down 10.5 pounds and I’ve been feeling great, following the plan and feeling very motivated, then today came.  Since I started this blog, I’ve felt nothing but positive feelings and have been very motivated.  Today, I want to tell you about a struggle (that I overcame).  I wanted to eat everything that isn’t on the plan today (like a hot fudge sundae from McD’s, a chocolate candy bar, Taco Bell, more ice cream, ect.) and I started thinking what will one little thing hurt?  I knew if I ate any of these things then I’d want more of it.  It was a struggle to get through the day.  I wanted CHOCOLATE!!  Luckily I found some choc crisps (I think that’s the name) in my purse.  Thank goodness for great tasting SG snacks!  I’ve learned that I need to be prepared and be sure to have a couple snack options on hand depending on what I’m craving (if I have one).  I fought hard and won today.  I didn’t give in.

I even went to the grocery store after work to get some veggies and meat, however I found myself wandering down the pizza and ice cream aisle saying “oh look, I can’t have that, or I can’t have that either”  GRRR, that made me frustrated.  I had a mild panic attack in the store and decided it was best to leave.  I ended up purchasing the few items in my cart, which included a measuring cup that I can keep at work, a small pill box for my suppliments and a bag of carrots.  Well, at least I ended up with some of the things that I intended to buy and I left with nothing that was “off” the plan food.  I went and picked up my daughter and talked to a friend.  As I was driving home, I didn’t plan on stopping at the SG center, but decided that it might be a good idea given the circumstances.  I needed some kind of confirmation from them that this was indeed a normal feeling and that cravings are bound to happen, but that it’s how I deal with them that counts.  I did it though 🙂

I am so proud of myself for not giving into temptation, but boy was it hard.  I’m sure some of you can relate.  The SG counselors suggested that I possibly eat a fruit that has some natural sugar in it, or keep a variety of snacks on hand.  Also eating more frequently might be a good option for me and not eating the majority of my food in the evening when I realize that I haven’t had much during the day.  But really this was a big deal for me.  Having a cravings, fighting it and not turning to food to solve my problem was a big step for me.

I looked over my food journal for the day and found out what things I still needed to get in for the day, then I came home and made some dinner and had a small snack after.  Now I’ve just been browsing the SG Community site and getting inspiration and tips from others and now blogging.  I did a good job handling this today and it makes me proud.  So a hard day turned into a good lesson and just proving one more time to myself that I can do this!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A hard day

  1. Matt in MN says:

    Big props to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

